Loading Events

The Weaving Residency

4 June 2019 - 13 October 2019

The Weaving Residency in association with Cockpit Arts will showcase the work of weaver Alice Timmis, who specialises in Jacquard woven fabrics, hand-woven bespoke cloth and embroideries. Alice will be working on a large George Maxwell loom, part of the museum’s permanent collection. The marriage of the historic loom and Alice’s contemporary style celebrates the resurgence of interest in this traditional craft. Visitors are invited to come along to see the maker at work and learn about slow fashion and ethical production.

In association with Cockpit Arts, who support and develop makers through their provision of studio space and business

Entry to The Weaving Residency is included in your museum entry ticket. The show features displays of Alice’s incredible work, and Alice will be working in the space for a number of days over the course of her residency. You can see her at work on the loom on the following dates:

  • Saturday 13 July
  • Saturday 27 July
  • Sunday 4 August
  • Wednesday 7 August
  • Saturday 10 August
  • Wednesday 14 August
  • Wednesday 21 August
  • Saturday 24 August
  • Sunday 25 August
  • Saturday 7 September
  • Sunday 22 September
  • Saturday 28 September
  • Saturday 5 October
  • Sunday 6 October
  • Sunday 13 October

Part of Women’s Work, a major new exhibition on the work of craftswomen who turned their practice’s into successful businesses between the two World Wars. View the full programme below.

 

Image by Alun Callender. Weavers from Cockpit Arts: Vicky Cowin, Poppy Fuller-Abbott, Elizabeth Ashdown, Claire Whelan and Sophie Graney.